The Sacraments


The Seven Sacraments were instituted by Christ, himself, to give Grace to mankind. The term "Sacrament" is best defined as "An outward sign instituted by Christ to give Grace". When we consider the definition, we break it into three parts; 

         1. "An Outward Sign": Because we are humans, Christ needed material symbols that we humans could attach to, understand and/or perceive. These are the "Things (Water and Oil) and Words or Gestures that we use when conferring a Sacrament.

         2. Instituted by Christ: Jesus Christ "Created" the seven Sacraments from when He began His public life, until His death on the Cross. When He Ascended into Heaven, there was an end to the creating of Sacraments. There will always be seven Sacraments... no more, no less. The Church can not institute new Sacraments. 

         3. To give Grace: Jesus instituted the Sacraments for the essential purpose of conferring God's Grace upon us humans.

Sacramental Preparation: Baptism

For Baptism information, please call the Parish office: (780) 466-7576

Form: Baptism of a Child

Sacramental Preparation: RCIA

The Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults

             RCIA: Deacon Gem

The Rite of Christian Initiation for Children

             RCIC: Sister Delia

If you are interested in knowing more about the Catholic faith and receiving the sacraments of initiation, please contact the Parish office to register.

Sacramental Preparation: Marriage

Six months prior to your wedding date, plan to meet with Fr. Shimit

Sacraments of Initiation

  • Baptism

    Baptism is the foundation of Life in the Church. It is through Baptism that we are freed from the original sin which we are born with and are reborn as Children of God. Baptism is the first Sacrament in the Sacraments of Initiation, the other two are Confirmation and Holy Eucharist. Baptism is also the first Sacrament received chronologically, since all others are dependent on it, therefore making it the Gateway to all other Sacraments.

  • Confirmation

    Although many receive the Sacrament of Confirmation in their early teenage years, long after they have already received First Holy Eucharist, Confirmation is considered the second of the Sacraments of Initiation. In some writings, Confirmation is considered to be the "perfecting" of the Baptism, in that the Baptized are "more perfectly bound to the Church and are enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit. Hence they are, as true witnesses of Christ, more strictly obliged to spread and defend the faith by word and deed."

  • Holy Eucharist

    The Holy Eucharist is the third and final of the Sacraments of Christian Initiation. 


    "The holy Eucharist completes Christian initiation. Those who have been raised to the dignity of the royal priesthood by Baptism and configured more deeply to Christ by Confirmation participate with the whole community in the Lord's own sacrifice by means of the Eucharist."


    - The Cathechism of the Catholic Church


    The Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults and the Rite of Christian Initiation adapted for Children are extensions of the Sacrament of Baptism. These programs are offered to allow children and adults who were never baptized to explore joining our Faith Community.

Sacraments of Healing

  • Reconciliation

    The Sacrament of Reconciliation is Jesus' recognition that we are humans. When we are baptized, our original sin is washed away and we receive the Grace of Christian Initiation. But Jesus knew that many would forget their Baptismal promises and may fall into sin. Since His mercy is infinite, it is natural that He would provide us a means to receive His Grace through the heartfelt and mindful confession of the sins, and a genuine want for the satisfaction of forgiveness through penance.

  • Anointing of the Sick

    The Sacrament of Anointing the Sick is conferred by Priests, upon all who are experiencing illness, effects of aging, injury and especially those preparing to die

The Sacraments of serving the Church and the mission of the faithful

The Sacrament of Matrimony

"The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring; this covenant between baptized persons has been raised by Christ the Lord to the dignity of a sacrament."

-The Catechism of the Catholic Church: Pt 2, Sec. 2, Chpt. 3, Article 7, 1601

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church: Pt 2, Sec. 2, Chpt. 3, Article 6, 1536